Instagram scrollers beware: your favorite photo-sharing app recently released a new feature that shows friends when you were last online. Similar to the activity status found on Facebook Messenger and WhatsApp, Instagram’s new setting is now turned on by default in your account.
So if someone follows you, and you don’t follow them back, they won’t be able to view your activity status. You can see exactly when your friends were last online by navigating to your direct messages:
If you want to keep your late-night puppy picture scroll fests completely private, don’t fret. You can turn off Instagram’s “last online” feature with the following quick steps.
Keep in mind that once you turn the feature off, you won’t be able to view anyone else’s “last online” status.
Here’s the setting you’re looking for:
Once that setting is toggled off, you’re free to resume scrolling undetected.
Source: New feed